Days 7 & 8: Last Stop and Home

How fortunate that the tour had left the best until last, because I can’t think of a single sight that could possibly follow the Taj Mahal and be anywhere near its equal in beauty and splendour.

The following day, we embarked on the long journey by road back to Delhi, where the tour group would spend our final afternoon before going our separate ways across the globe. Laura, some of the other girls, and I, made the most of the time by heading into the city centre to do some last minute shopping. We successfully managed to navigate our way across the city using the metro system, and no one was abducted, robbed or killed, hoorah! We all came away with bags of loot, spending our last rupees, which tourists are prohibited from taking out of the country. I even managed to get my hands on an embroidered cotton bag, something I’d been keeping my eyes out for the entire trip; it had paid off to hold out.

There’s not much more to say except that the trip came to a pleasant close, with many hugs and kisses goodbye, and promises to stay in touch. A spontaneous whim to fulfil my dream, following a friend on a whirlwind tour of a country that had always fascinated me, had turned into the trip of a lifetime. I had enjoyed every second, and now it was time to return to reality.

IMG-20160305-WA0000

 

Leave a comment